Guide: care costs
Senior care costs, side by side
Every national median we could source, with its year and publisher.
- $6,200/mo
- Assisted living, 2025 median
- $10,798/mo
- Nursing home private room, 2025 median
CareScout Cost of Care Survey, read Oct 2, 2026. See source

On this page
How to read the table
CareScout runs a yearly Cost of Care Survey; its 2025 national medians are the most recent here1. A Place for Mom and Caring.com publish medians from their own data25. Different methods give different numbers, so the spread between them is a fair picture of what is typical.
A national median is the middle of a wide spread. CareScout notes that a particular provider's cost can differ significantly from the median for similar providers in the same place1.
National medians by type of care
| Published by | Published figure | Year |
|---|---|---|
| Assisted living | ||
| CareScout1 | $6,200 a month | 2025 |
| A Place for Mom2 | $5,419 a month | Not stated by the source |
| Caring.com5 | $5,350 a month | 2023 |
| Memory care | ||
| A Place for Mom3 | $6,690 a month | Not stated by the source |
| Caring.com6 | $5,100 a month (average) | Not stated by the source |
| Non-medical home care | ||
| CareScout1 | $35 an hour; $6,673 a month at 44 hours a week | 2025 |
| A Place for Mom4 | $34 an hour | Not stated by the source |
| Caring.com (CareScout 2024)7 | About $33 an hour; $6,292 a month | 2024 |
| Adult day and nursing homes | ||
| Adult day health care1 | $95 a day | 2025 |
| Nursing home, semi-private room1 | $9,581 a month ($315 a day) | 2025 |
| Nursing home, private room1 | $10,798 a month ($355 a day) | 2025 |
All read October 2, 2026. Not stated means the page did not give a year for the figure.
Turning medians into a plan
Step 1
Look up your area
CareScout's cost page lets you enter a location; local medians can be far from national ones.
Step 2
Price the actual care level
Ask communities and agencies for written prices at the level of help needed now.
Step 3
Plan for increases
The 2024 to 2025 changes above show yearly increases of 1% to 5% for most care types.
About this page
We do not earn anything from sign-ups today: every provider link is a plain link to the provider's own site, without a referral code. This site is not a medical provider and nothing on it is medical advice; talk to a qualified clinician about your own health.
ElderCompass Guide is not a care provider, placement agency or medical provider, and nothing here is medical, legal or financial advice. Talk to a qualified clinician about health questions.
Costs are published medians or list prices on the date we read them. The provider's or community's own page, contract and written quote are the final word on price and terms.






