Skip to content

Free to read. No paid listings. Not medical advice. How this site works

Assisted living costs, 2026

What assisted living costs

Three published national medians, what the base fee covers, and what usually costs extra.

$6,200/mo
CareScout's 2025 national median
$5,350-$5,419
A month: Caring.com's and A Place for Mom's medians

CareScout, A Place for Mom and Caring.com, read Oct 2, 2026. See source

An older couple plays cards in a bright assisted living common room.
On this page
  1. Key facts
  2. Where to start
  3. What the monthly fee pays for
  4. Three national medians
  5. Where families search
  6. What to ask before you sign
  7. Assisted living questions
  8. Sources

Key facts

  • CareScout's 2025 national median is $6,200 a month, or $74,400 a year, up 5% from 20241.
  • A Place for Mom's median is $5,419 and Caring.com's $5,350 (2023)23.
  • The base fee usually covers rent, meals, housekeeping, transport and activities; personal care, laundry and pet fees may cost extra2.
  • Standard Medicaid does not list assisted living, but many states run waivers that can help3.

Where to start

Where to start
If you are askingStart withLink
What does the monthly fee cover?Rent, meals, housekeeping, transport, activities
Is a parent living with dementia?Memory care is priced and staffed differently
Would help at home be enough?Home care runs $35 an hour (2025 median)
Did a parent serve in the military?VA Aid and Attendance may add to a pension

What the monthly fee pays for

CareScout's 2025 survey puts the national median for an assisted living community at $6,200 per month, or $74,400 a year, up 5% from $5,900 in 20241. A Place for Mom gives a median of $5,419 per month from its own data2, and Caring.com gives $5,350 per month as of 20233. The three use different data and years, so the spread is the honest range of what is typical.

The base fee and the extras. A Place for Mom says the base fee typically covers rent, utilities, meals and snacks, housekeeping, transportation to medical appointments and social activities, while help with personal care, internet, beauty and barber services, laundry and pet fees may cost extra. Some communities are all-inclusive; others charge by the level of help a resident needs2.

Three national medians

Published byMonthlyYear of data
CareScout Cost of Care Survey1$6,2002025
A Place for Mom2$5,419Not stated by the source
Caring.com3$5,3502023

Read October 2, 2026. Not stated means the page gave no year for the figure.

Where families search

How these links work: each button opens the provider's own site and earns us nothing today. This site is not a medical provider; nothing here is medical advice.

Good for browsing options city by city

Caring.com

Published figure
$5,350 a month median (2023)
On the site
A directory by city, with a cost guide
Browse on Caring.comOpens Caring.com's site. Not a referral link.
What to check first
  • What the base fee includes, in writing
  • How a change in care needs is priced
  • Who contacts you if you share your details

Good for reading a plain guide, then searching options near a parent

A Place for Mom

Published median
$5,419 a month, from its own data
On the site
A guide plus a search by location
Search on A Place for MomOpens A Place for Mom's site. Not a referral link.
What to check first
  • What the base fee includes, in writing
  • How a change in care needs is priced
  • Who contacts you if you share your details

What to ask before you sign

  • What does the base fee include?

    Meals, housekeeping, transport, activities. Ask for it in writing.

  • How is care priced?

    All-inclusive, by level of help, or per service: communities differ2.

  • What raises the price later?

    Ask how a change in needs is assessed, and how much notice you get.

  • Can we visit again?

    A second look at a different time of day shows more than the tour.

Assisted living questions

Who pays for assisted living?

Mostly families. Caring.com explains that standard Medicaid does not include assisted living among its covered services, but many states offer Medicaid waivers that can help pay for assisted living services. It also lists VA benefits for qualifying veterans and long-term care insurance, whose terms vary3. See paying for senior care.

What is VA Aid and Attendance?

A monthly payment added to a VA pension for qualified veterans and survivors who need help with daily activities4.

Why do the medians differ?

Each publisher uses its own data and year. Treat the spread as the typical range, then ask local communities for written prices.

Sources

  1. Cost of Care Survey, 2025 national mediansCareScout, read Oct 2, 2026
  2. What Is Assisted Living? Services, Cost, and BenefitsA Place for Mom, read Oct 2, 2026
  3. What Is Assisted Living?Caring.com, read Oct 2, 2026
  4. Aid and Attendance benefits and Housebound allowanceU.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, read Oct 2, 2026

About this page

We do not earn anything from sign-ups today: every provider link is a plain link to the provider's own site, without a referral code. This site is not a medical provider and nothing on it is medical advice; talk to a qualified clinician about your own health.

ElderCompass Guide is not a care provider, placement agency or medical provider, and nothing here is medical, legal or financial advice. Talk to a qualified clinician about health questions.

Costs are published medians or list prices on the date we read them. The provider's or community's own page, contract and written quote are the final word on price and terms.